Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was listening to a random mix of all of my stations Pandora at work the other day and a song from way back (highschool-ish era) came on.  It was Remember the Name by Fort Minor.  It caught me in the first two lines and first round of the chorus.  I thought It’d be a good motivational/pump me up song for working out or running.   I loved the chorus the best.  I didn’t copy over all of the lyrics, but if you want to see all of the lyrics check out this site where I found them.

This is ten percent luck, twenty percent skill
Fifteen percent concentrated power of will
Five percent pleasure, fifty percent pain
And a hundred percent reason to remember the name!

I decided last night my feet could use a little love.  All of the training I’ve been doing has not been nice to my toes.  I lost my first toenail way back in the day (2009) after my first Twin Cities 10 Mile.  And now I think I’m on to losing numbers 2 and 3.  But my non-runner friends and peeps don’t need to see that right!?  So thankfully I have plenty of nail polish to cover up the two weird looking black and blue toes!  Take a look at my pretty “after” picture, they could pass for perfectly normal, non-runner feet right!?

What are some pump up jams that you listen to when you’re running or working out?  I stream pandora on my phone, but I have to admit I love me some Flo Rida – I think Jump is my favorite song of his lately.  Also Pitbull Shake is great too, except sometimes it makes me dance/run instead of just running.  Of course I can’t forget the song that was in my head from start to finish of my first TC 10 mile (because we could not have headphones at the time) Ne Yo’s Closer.  Until I found out what the actually title was I just kept calling it “I just can stop”.  Seemed fitting for a race start line song, no?

